GunBroker.com Message Forums
Review our Posting Guidelines
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?   Trouble / Can't log in?

All Forums
 Ask the Experts
 742 Woodsmaster problems
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

bige37083
Starting Member

8 Posts

Posted - 01/05/2005 :  8:54:16 PM  Show Profile
I have a question. I deer hunt with a Remington Woodsmaster 742 .30-06. I'm having a problem with spent shells jamming the action. I'm assuming this is a gas port problem, but hey, i'm no expert for sure. Any help would be appreciated.

Eric P.

DBV

USA
1442 Posts

Posted - 01/05/2005 :  9:25:35 PM  Show Profile
I have a 7400 on order which is the new version of your gun. I've done a lot of reading on these things. Apparently the chambers are very prone to corrosion and if you don't keep them 100% clean all the time this -- over time -- will result in the cases sticking the way yours is. I'd get in there with a brush and solvent and scrub, scrub, scrub..............and scrub some more. Get that action and chamber squeaky clean and lightly oiled and I suspect your problem will be solved. Good luck.
Go to Top of Page

allechalley

USA
893 Posts

Posted - 01/05/2005 :  10:02:11 PM  Show Profile
We had this years ago and DBV is correct. Make sure also that if this happens in cold (like below 30) to thoroughly clean the whole action of gun oil, espec. if it was Rem Oil and lube with Break Free, TriFlo or other Teflon based lube. The trouble we had was the gun oil would thicken just enough to slow the action down. I had the same thing on a Beretta 390. Was told by company rep to hose down with Break Free. let sit a while and shoot. Worked A1 ever since.
Go to Top of Page

RadCat

USA
690 Posts

Posted - 01/05/2005 :  10:43:11 PM  Show Profile