GunBroker.com Message Forums
Review our Posting Guidelines
GunBroker.com Message Forums
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?   Trouble / Can't log in?

 All Forums
 GunBroker.com Message Forums
 General Discussion
 NICS Fee
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

RugerNiner
Advanced Member

11218 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2002 :  10:12:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The way I understand it is you have to pay a NICS fee every time you buy a gun if your CCW was issued after 11/98 or if you don't have a CCW. This is what I've been told, may not be right. Prior to 11/98 would be a Grandfather Clause. I live in FL. If any body knows something other than this let me know. I have a AK47 I'm picking up Sat.

Remember...Terrorist are attacking Civilians; Not the Government. Protect Yourself!

Pelican
Advanced Member

USA
2581 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2002 :  10:26:29 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The Feds do not charge a fee. Some states do. Close as I am I really ain't positive but I think FL does.

The Almighty Himself Entrusted the Future of All Living Creatures to a Wooden Boat.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

"Audemus jura nostra defendere"

Go to Top of Page

gskyhawk
Advanced Member

USA
5243 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2002 :  10:33:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
here in WI its $ 8 or $10 depends on the store
Go to Top of Page

RugerNiner
Advanced Member

11218 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2002 :  10:34:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The FFL dealer I'm going through maybe trying to get more money out of me. I also don't think he knows what he is doing. The first gun I bought this way, the Pawn Shop called the seller and said he needed his FFL to accept the gun. The seller straightened him out on this and the gun was shipped after the Pawn Shop sent his FFL.

Remember...Terrorist are attacking Civilians; Not the Government. Protect Yourself!

Go to Top of Page

k.stanonik
Senior Member

1956 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2002 :  10:40:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The dealer i work with only charges $4, cheap enough considering he has to do it
Go to Top of Page

ref44
Member

533 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2002 :  10:41:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Colorado law allows up to $10 to be charged for the background check.
Calls go to the CBI, but a check results in both a state and a NICS number.
Go to Top of Page

njretcop
Advanced Member

USA
4914 Posts

Posted - 04/12/2002 :  06:02:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Here in the PR of NJ, it is 15.00 bucks every time you buy a gun.
Don't matter if you bought one yesterday, you still pay today!!

Thank you NJ

-Charlie

"It's the stuff dreams are made of Angel"
NRA Certified Firearms Instructor
Member: GOA, RKBA, NJSPBA, NJ area rep for the 2ndAMPD.
njretcop@copmail.com

Go to Top of Page

pikeal1
Senior Member

2217 Posts

Posted - 04/12/2002 :  07:46:56 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
After 98 even with a CCW in Florida, you still have to have a nics check done. Even those that have had their CCW before 98 will have to have the background checks called in after they renew their permits. It should be about $5.00 in Florida...anything else is going to the sellers pocket.
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
GunBroker.com Message Forums © 1999-2011 GB Investments, Inc. All Rights Reserved Go To Top Of Page
Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.06


Visit GunBroker.com at: www.gunbroker.com
Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the site's User Agreement
Site Map