GunBroker.com Message Forums
Review our Posting Guidelines
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?   Trouble / Can't log in?

All Forums
 Ask the Experts
 Savage 1895 .250-3000 - Takedown Carbine? Value?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

krootz
Starting Member

USA
45 Posts

Posted - 08/01/2006 :  10:35:52 PM  Show Profile
I have an older Savage 1895 takedown in the rarer .250-3000. It is a takedown model and has short factory barrel....like 18 or 20" off the top of my head. I am not an expert with these guns, but I know they can fetch quite a bit. The bluing is faded in areas, but no rust or pitting. The wood is beautiful.

Also...I have 10...yes...10 boxes of factory .250-3000 shells of various makers. I know the shells alone can be worth something.

Also...I have a very old Boyd guncase that is designed to case the gun when it is taken down...it has two compartments and a shoulder sling.

It has a Williams peep sight on the rear.

Does anyone know how I can research the value or can anyone give me some history and worth of this gun so I can set a a price for listing on GunBroker? I need max. $ for it as I need to pay medical bills for my wife.

Thanks in Advance! :)

1KYDSTR

USA
2319 Posts

Posted - 08/01/2006 :  10:55:08 PM  Show Profile
Standard advice in this case is to check ended/closed auctions of this gun type to tell what the market is bearing. Seperating the ammo might actually net you more money too. Price range looks like between $250 and $850. The book I'm looking at is a few years old, so take it with a grain of salt. Piuctures and serial would really help to determine a real world value.

"When I cease learning...I'm dead"(Me)
"When I was 14 I used to marvel at how ignorant my old man was...by the time I was 21 I was truelly amazed at how much the old bugger had learned in the intervening 7 years!" Samuel Clemens