GunBroker.com Message Forums
Review our Posting Guidelines
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?   Trouble / Can't log in?

All Forums
 General Discussion
 Buying a long gun out of state
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

slipgate
Advanced Member

Italy
9162 Posts

Posted - 01/15/2008 :  1:23:50 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
So there is a gun show at the Dulles Expo Center in Virginia the weekend of 2/8. I am a Maryland resident. Can I buy a long gun (AR) at the show and take it with me or do I need them to ship to an FFL in MD? I know I can't do it with a pistol but this is a rifle.

Do you brew?

"May God have mercy upon my enemies, because I won't." - General George Patton Jr

[Democrats] are like a drunken vagrant who emerges from the alley to cause havoc every few years. They are the perpetual toothache of American politics. - Ann Coulter

NRA Life Member - The ONLY organization that has ever done ANYTHING to further gun rights.

jonk
Advanced Member

9776 Posts

Posted - 01/15/2008 :  1:29:54 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Depends on VA law and MD law. Federally there is no prohibition- I live in Ohio and have bought guns in Kentucky and once in Utah, no issues, in person.

"...hit your enemy in the belly, and kick him when he is down, and boil his prisoners in oil- if you take any- and torture his women and children. Then people will keep clear of you..." -Admiral of the Fleet Lord Fisher, speaking at the Hague Peace Conf
Go to Top of Page

GuvamintCheese
Advanced Member

30877 Posts

Posted - 01/15/2008 :  1:32:16 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Do you have to buy it from an FFL?
Go to Top of Page

duckhunter
Advanced Member

8433 Posts

Posted - 01/15/2008 :  1:56:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
By law YES. A non ffl can not sell to a non resident non ffl.
Go to Top of Page

jonk
Advanced Member