GunBroker.com Message Forums
Review our Posting Guidelines
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?   Trouble / Can't log in?

All Forums
 Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting
 CVA 209 Primer Adapter
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

rrfhunter

229 Posts

Posted - 12/04/2011 :  11:00:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm new to muzzle loading and trying to get started. I bought a used CVA Hunterbolt inline off the auctions and am having a real PIA. I assumed it would use 209 primers but when I went to the range to shoot it, it turns out the breech plug has a nipple for musket caps which can't be found. So I bought a 209 breech plug adapter and the instructions just say to screw it in until "snug" which I did(with grease) but there's about a 1/8" gap between the bolt face and the breech plug. The firing pin doesn't contact the primer. Is there supposed to be a "gapping" procedure like gapping a spark plug, etc?

....I never met a gun I didn't like!

bambambam
Advanced Member

USA
3932 Posts

Posted - 12/04/2011 :  1:58:03 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You need to double check to see if the model can use the breech plug adapter.

I have a CVA MAG HUNTER that I ruined the preech plug on. I didn't put anti-sieze on it and tore the chit out off it when I finally got it out. The tool kept slipping out as I was tring to twist it out.

I bought a replacement breech plug from Cabelas. I just turn it in until snug, not too tight.

Can you post a picture or your breech plug (out of the gun) and a picture of your bolt(out of the gun). I need to see the 2 surfaces that contact each other. I can probly tell you if they are a match that way.
Go to Top of Page

rrfhunter

229 Posts

Posted - 12/04/2011 :  5:50:55 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote