GunBroker.com Message Forums
Review our Posting Guidelines
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?   Trouble / Can't log in?

All Forums
 Ask the Experts
 Winchester Ranger model 140 in 20ga
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

sfcmtrn
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 09/14/2012 :  12:14:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
All,

I live in shotgun only territory of upstate NY. I have a 12 yr old who is not very big and I have been trying to figure out what he is going to be able to shoot. I am a recently returning vet and only partially employed, so I am trying not to buy a gun he will quickly grow out of... In my collection is this Winchester Ranger 140 in 20 ga. It's a hand me down that hasn't seen the field in MANY years. At first I thought the 20 ga auto loader would be perfect, just enough weight and the recoil mechanism would take up a lot of the kick and hopefully he wouldn't be scare of the gun as many beginners are. But then watching him lean back to hold the end of the long bird barrel up and only having a bead to aim has all the tell tale signs of tracking a wounded deer for miles. I have looked high and low, including an add on GunBroker.com want adds, for a slug barrel with rifle sights but no luck. Am I wasting time looking for a unicorn? Does any other manufacturer make a barrel that fits? I appreciate any guidance and thank you for your time.

fordsix
Advanced Member

5808 Posts

Posted - 09/14/2012 :  12:27:56 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
probally not for that old of a gun you could cut the barrel to 18/20"..but then the whole gun is to long in the pull for his size..possible have a look at the mossberg model 510 or model 505...made for little guys
Go to Top of Page

rufe-snow
Advanced Member

15750 Posts

Posted - 09/14/2012 :  12:44:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote