In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

safe question

tazzertazzer Member Posts: 16,837
edited September 2017 in General Discussion
since the topic has come up at least twice now in the past two days...

When picking out a safe, do you consider how you will get into it after a fire? Most of the ones I see have all plastic knobs.

Can someone recommend a good one that is value priced, with that consideration in mind?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    I just got a new Cannon safe and put one of the Silica Gel Dehumidifier in it.

Question is will that be enough or should I put something in lioke a Golden Rod or Mini Dehumidifier ?
  • Options
    AdamsQuailHunterAdamsQuailHunter Member Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have no experience with silica gel packs in a safe. I have a large Champion "Triumph" model with a "golden rod" in it. Works great and electrical utilization is minuscule. Best Regards - AQH
  • Options
    edited November -1
  • Options
    Smitty500magSmitty500mag Member Posts: 13,603 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You have to keep changing out those packs. Put a Golden Rod in it and be done with it. The Golden Rod is not a dehumidifier either it just keeps the moisture from condensating. My Golden Rod has been running in my safe since 2001 and I've never had a rusted gun.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by Smitty500mag
    You have to keep changing out those packs. Put a Golden Rod in it and be done with it. The Golden Rod is not a dehumidifier either it just keeps the moisture from condensating. My Golden Rod has been running in my safe since 2001 and I've never had a rusted gun.

Not packs its a canister that can be out in the oven and recharged.