In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

204 ruger

featheredcoyotefeatheredcoyote Member Posts: 53 ✭✭
edited February 2005 in General Discussion
I've been shooting this gun for about six months and absolutely fallen in love with the cartridge. It's a barn burner and a define improvement over the 17 hmr, which lacks ability to kill much, to bad it came out after the 17 hmr. Does anyone else agree with this summation.

Comments

• featheredcoyotefeatheredcoyote Member Posts: 53 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I bought one a couple of weeks ago and finaly got it out to shoot this weekend. All I can say is I am in LOVE with this round. It is explosive on targets. I can't wait to get it on some varmints.

Ray
  • featheredcoyotefeatheredcoyote Member Posts: 53 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Anyone ever shoot one? What do you think of them?
  • duckhunterduckhunter Member Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    yes.

I WOULD RATHER BE DUCK HUNTING.
  • lenuelmp23lenuelmp23 Member Posts: 146 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    totaly. the 17hmr is fun to shoot but it wont kill any thing other than a squrial
  • groundhog devastationgroundhog devastation Member Posts: 4,495
    edited November -1
    Well I guess you naysayers need to resurrect over 200 groundhogs, a few foxes, uncounted crows all who have fallen to the lowly 17HMR at distances measured an witnessed out to 237 yards and tell them they ain't really dead!!!!! I like the .204 and have been shooting it about since it was first available and it is a totally different beast but I also like the 17 HMR for the astounding accurracy it delivers in a rimfire!!! Head and neck shots only!!! Don't take a body shot and expect to have DRT's....dead right there's!!! If you glass the 17HMR right, there is no reason to not take ONLY HEAD AND NECK SHOT!! GHD