In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Rugster...quick question...

n/an/a Member Posts: 168,427
edited April 2005 in General Discussion
What constitutes a "concealled weapon" in VA and what would seperate that belt buckle from a common knife...many people carry pocket knives.

Next question has to do with what would be the best way to get out of trouble if a LEO caught you with something that would constitute a concealled weapon...I'm talking about honest upstanding citizens...not criminals. I have often wondered if knives or "chucks" in my vehicle would get me in trouble.

Thanks![:)]

Eric

All American Arms Company

www.galleryofguns.com
VIP Code: AAAC

Veteran Owned and Operated

Comments

• NighthawkNighthawk Member Posts: 12,022 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Im not a lawyer so I will tell you to the best of my ability the way the codes are in VA.A weapon can be almost anything,any object created to injure,mame,kill or inflict * harm on another individual is considered a weapon.In my 11yrs the only time Ive charged anyone for possesion of any of the above was when used in connection with a crime.There is alot in the books which are there mainly to add charges on to someone who have used one of the above mentioned in the commission of a crime.For example hitting someone with a tire iron or a 2x4 is assault with a deadly weapon.So even a tire iron or billy club can be considered a deadly weapon.When issued a Permit to carry a concealed handgun thats what the permit states its for handguns only.A common knife someone carries is not considered a concealed or a deadly weapon unless used in a attack against someone who is unarmed.Any Knife or edged weapon with a blade longer than 8 inches is prohibited,and is a Class I Misdemeanor to possess.Knumbchucks(SP)Daggers throwing stars and other edged weapons are also proh