In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Please, how about a

Colt SuperColt Super Member Posts: 31,007
edited May 2009 in General Discussion
recipe for sausage gravey ??

I have a hankerin' for some homemade biscuits & gravy this mornin''

No healthful recipes today, please.

And what readily available sausage do you recommend.

I live in OryGun.

Thank you.

Doug

Comments

• DBMJR1DBMJR1 Member Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Ah Yes. Fond memories of SOS. I was an Engineer, you'll have to find someone from the mess hall.
  • txlawdogtxlawdog Member Posts: 10,039 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    My wife cooks it this way...

The gravy is the important part, take bacon grease, just a little bit and mix it with some flour. Stir, stir, stir over heat until you get a good brown roux. Sometimes it takes my wife about 10-15 minutes. When it gets good and brown after constant stirring you add some milk to thicken it up. I would have already cooked some bacon and sausage and then just stir that meat in.

Growing up, we didn't have any store bought biscuits, we just had some toast and it was mighty fine!
  • n/an/a Member Posts: 168,427
    edited November -1
    Fry your favorite sausage.
    Don't drain drippings.
    Add lots o pepper.
    Add half volume of water, the other half milk.

After it begins to boil, add flour or cornstarch slowly to thicken. Use a wisk to mix in the flour/cornstarch.
  • fishkiller41fishkiller41 Member Posts: 50,608
    edited November -1
    Fry 1/2 package Jimmy Dean HOT sage sausage till browned, add 2 heaping t-spoons flour, stir till flower is incorporated and brown.
    Add 1.5 cups milk and simmer till thickened.
    The longer you cook the flour, the less thickening power it will have.[;)]
    edited November -1
    8 ounces breakfast sausage