In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Why I Am Not a Paramedic Any More

allen griggsallen griggs Member Posts: 35,229 ✭✭✭✭
edited August 2014 in General Discussion
I worked as a paramedic at a small, country Georgia hospital for 14 years. The stress got to me and I had to bail out.

To begin with, I saw so many cases in which people who ought to have died, were kept alive by machines for days, weeks, and even months. See the Joan River thread. Nine times out of ten the family lacked the guts to pull the plug. I was horrified to see these pathetic, helpless patients kept needlessly alive, when there was no hope of resuscitation.

The other thing that stressed me out so much was seeing children die.
After several years on the job, it didn't bother me to see a grown adult die. I would work a car wreck, in which a 55 year old guy wrapped his car around an oak tree at midnight, maybe he had had a few drinks, and he was Dead Right There.
I figured, he had lived a life. He had the chance to go to college, or not go. He had the choice to join, or not join the military. He had the choice to have a family, or not have.
He had lived, for better or worse, 55 years. He died so quickly, he didn't know what hit him.
Also, this meant that he would not have a stroke, and waste away for 4 years in the nursing home, unable to walk or speak. He would not contract cancer, and waste away, as I saw so many patients do, waste away to where he was 125 pounds, helpless, and wearing a diaper for the last month, before he finally died.

After several years on the job, working a wreck where a guy died like that didn't bother me. Maybe that was proof that I had gone off the deep end.

But, I could never get used to seeing children die.