In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Taser..... facts and myths

wartigerwartiger Member Posts: 3,861
edited February 2008 in General Discussion
O.K guys and gals...I have a bone to pick and this seems as good a place as any. First, I am a certified Taser instructor. Second, I am not paid, endorsed or compensated in any way by Taser International.

Taser Myths:
The TASER DOES NOT deliver 50,000 volts as the media would have you believe.
The TASER does not kill. It does not deliver enough amperage to kill, and amperage is what kills you, not volts.
The TASER does not affect your heart rate or your respiratory system.
The TASER probes do not penetrate the body as most projectiles.
And no, Taseing someone in water will not electrocute them.

Taser Facts:
The TASER is capable of producing 50,000 volts, but only delivers on average 1000-1200 volts.
The TASER produces less amps than a single christmas tree bulb, no where lethal.
The TASER affects your neuro-muscular system, meaning it affects only your large muscle masses, resulting in contraction of these muscle groups, and thus incapacitaing the suspect.
The TASER only delivers a 5 second "shock", but if necessary, can deliver multiple shocks in 5 second bursts.
The Taser's electrical frequency mimics the body's own signal, telling the brain to contract the muscles.
The Taser's charge is not capable of penetrating deep enough into the body to affect the heart.
And finally, the use of TASERS have decreased the number of police shootings, injuries to both police and suspects, the number of law suits brought by police brutality and is the greatest tool to Law Enforcement since the .40 and the Dodge Charger Hemi. Any more questions and I will be more than happy to answer.
Now I will step off my soapbox, thank you for your patience!!

Comments