In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

NEF

John J PlutaJohn J Pluta Member Posts: 10 ✭✭
edited August 2008 in General Discussion
Are the any quality differences between NEF, H&R and Rossi rifles? They seem very similar. Also how are Rossi revolvers if you can't afford S&W? New Rossi VS. used S&W

Comments

• John J PlutaJohn J Pluta Member Posts: 10 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'm fairly new to hunting. Last year was my first season, and I took a slicktop and a button buck with a borrowed NEF 12ga slug gun. I fell in love with it and have been thinking about purchasing one myself. However, I also need a good rifle to hunt with back home. I like NEF b/c of their relatively low price. From the little bit I've been able to find, it seems that different caliber barrels or "uppers" if you will, can be changed out. Can someone verify if this is correct, and if so, can the barrels be purchased separate instead of having to buy multiple rifles?
    Thanks.
  • MFIMFI Member Posts: 7,899 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    H&R or NEF over any Rossi .. Older S&W over any Rossi
  • MFIMFI Member Posts: 7,899 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    BTW Welcome aboard !!
  • CubsloverCubslover Member Posts: 18,601 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    As long as your used Smith still locks up tight and the forcing cone isn't worn away....I'd take it.

Rossi's are ok, but not nearly a Smith.

I'm with MFI on the NEF/H&R over a Rossi.
    Half of the lives they tell about me aren't true.
  • iwannausernameiwannausername Member Posts: 7,131
    edited November -1
    Rossi single shot rifles have a manual safety on the L side of the receiver...
  • godalejrgodalejr Member Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    the swivels studs tend to stip out of the stocks on the rossi. nef has better service too.
  • iluvgunsiluvguns Member Posts: 5,351