In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Thinking about some beef cows......

Tech141Tech141 Member Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭
edited December 2012 in General Discussion
Wife and I are looking at buying a few beef cows, with an eye on filling the freezer for the next few years. Now we have never done this before, and are looking for links/advise on how to proceed.
We have a 45 acre piece of land where the cows will be housed, but it's 3 hours away from where we live. We do have a local who is running cows on the property gratis at this time, but we don't want to take over-advantage of him on this.
Should we purchase a cow/calf combo with an eye on breeding the cow for future issue, or just buy a few weaned calfs to raise and slaughter.
Yep - total newb on this and would appreciate any info from you seasoned veterans on this subject.
Further info - we want this to be a sustainable situation for the future, and will be moving onto the property within the next 4-5 years so we will have an every-day-hands-on situation at that time.
Anyhoo, thanks for reading this far. If you have advice, please bring it.

Comments

• Options
    MMOMEQ-55MMOMEQ-55 Member Posts: 13,134
    edited November -1
    Way to many things involved in raising cattle. Cheaper to just buy a side of beef unless you raise your own feed.
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You should get FREE meat (1/2 a beef), including processing for your acreage now. Pasture ain't free.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by bpost
    You should get FREE meat (1/2 a beef), including processing for your acreage now. Pasture ain't free.