In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

*SIGH* Took my new gun to the range...

DocDoc Member Posts: 13,899 ✭✭✭
edited November 2018 in General Discussion
1. Failure of slide to fully close about 1/3 of rounds. Could be my reloads but I have been loading 45 for 38 years.

2. Part way through the session the slide stop malfunctioned and the slide would not lock open. Could be a bad magazine but it is a brand new factory mag.

3. Realized dealer ripped me off and skimmed the second magazine Colt supplies. Didn't notice it wasn't in the box.

4. Gun shot like crap. Even for me it was truly awful. Like 24" at 25 yards.

5. Left panel of ivory stocks split and fell off. To be fair it broke years ago and I repaired it. But did it have to fail at this moment? Apparently it did.

Through all of this I managed to fire 40 rounds...and couldn't find 6 casings. Usually do better than that. Not today...

Came home and repaired stock panel again. Next time will take some different ammo including FMJ (had lead RN today and maybe it doesn't like lead?). Will take a couple different magazines. Most importantly, I will take someone else along to shoot the gun for me.
....................................................................................................
Too old to live...too young to die...

Comments

• Options
    wpagewpage Member Posts: 10,204 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Doc, its no fun without a project on the bench.
  • Options
    navc130navc130 Member Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The 1911 was designed for 230 gr. FMJ. If it functions with that factory ammo then any other bullet design that functions is just a plus. 24 inches at 25 yards is almost impossible. Possible that the lead is too soft for the shallow rifling, the bullet is stripping the rifling and is not stabilized.
  • Options