In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

S&W Model 29 8 3/8 - Blue

popgunpopgun Member Posts: 670
edited January 2012 in Ask the Experts
Hi,

I have a S&W Model 29 which I purchased new in the mid-70's (probably 74-75.) It has been fired about 100 rounds since then, but the bluing is factory and I've kept it well cleaned and oiled all these years. I am not an expert, but would guess it's in 95% or better condition.

At one point in the late 70's a gunsmith friend sent the 29 back to S&W for minor repair and adjustment (I can't remember what the problem was, but it was minor.) He told me that S&W production quality had gone down at that time, but that they had retained all of their old expert gunsmiths for doing repair and adjustment work, and that by sending the 29 into them for work, it would come back in much better condition and alignment than it was originally. I don't know how accurate he was in saying that - but that's what he told me.

The 29 came in a wooden presentation box with blue satin-like interior. Although I've kept the 29 in a padded case for protection, I still have the box (although it is somewhat scratched and scuffed due to many moves since 1975.) It still has the screw driver that came in the box, but alas I've lost the cleaning rod that came with it somewhere along the line of the last 36 years.

I have no paperwork on the 29 except for some S&W advertising that was included in the box at the time.

I haven't shot it in years, as ammo for it is about $1 a round now, but it's an excellent gun and I'd appreciate knowing what it's worth.

So could anyone please give me an estimate of what the 29 might be worth today? I have no intention of selling it right now, but in these hard times I would like to know what I might get for it if I was forced to sell it.