In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Buying First Handgun, Any Recomendations?

HyperbolaHyperbola Member Posts: 2 ✭✭
edited September 2008 in Ask the Experts
guys,

Just asking for some recomendations... I am a 22 year old College student who wants to buy his first gun for when I get my CHL. I am experienced with rifles but I am fairly inexperienced with handguns. Again I am a college student so I'm not loaded with cash but I have about $400 in my gun fund and I was wondering about a couple of things...

New? Used?
caliber? I was thinking 9mm just so I wouldn't be spening tons of money on ammo, but would something else be better?

any and all comments/recomendations appreciated!!!

Comments

• Options
    iwannausernameiwannausername Member Posts: 7,131
    edited November -1
    If the primary purpose is as a conceal carry gun, its hard to go wrong with a small 38 or 357 revolver.

Otherwise, I'd say get a good 22 auto and become comfortable with pistols, etc. and then look at a centerfire semi auto.

But, with your budget, and apparent intended purpose, snubbie 38/357.
  • Options
    jthoresenjthoresen Member Posts: 445 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I would normally recommend a revolver (38 or 357) as your first handgun. However, you really need to have a semi-auto to qualify with for your CHL in Texas. That way you can carry a semi-auto or revolver. I recently recommended a 9mm Taurus Millennium Pro to a first time buyer and he loves it.
  • Options
    nunnnunn Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 36,042 ******
    edited November -1