In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

what kind of .45

gilbertgilbert Member Posts: 2 ✭✭
edited March 2006 in Ask the Experts
this is my first time trying to buy a sidearm and i was wondering what would be the best choice in finding a nice .45 thats reliable and concealable? i was looking at the springfield xd's but i just wanted some feedback on what you all might suggest
thanx [:)]

Comments

• Options
    Laredo LeftyLaredo Lefty Member Posts: 13,451 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Welcome to the forum............. You picked a good time to buy your first .45. There are a lot more variations available now than there were 20 years ago.

If your looking for a concealed carry gun, you may want something smaller than the full size pistol. Excellent guns are made by Kimber, Glock, Sig Sauer, Smith & Wesson and others as well as Springfield as you have already seen.

The XD is an excellent choice. I have an XD in 9mm, and it is a very well made and dependable gun. Cost varies somewhat between the numerous makers, so if thats a concern, you may need to shop around.

If you like the XD, I would suggest renting one at a range that has rentals and get some trigger time to be sure its what you want.
  • Options
    1KYDSTR1KYDSTR Member Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Hi Gilbert, and welcome to the GB Forum! You have asked a highly subjective question, and I think you may get a different answere from each of us! Any input you get here (or any other forum for that matter) is merely suggestion and should be taken with a grain of salt, as it were.