In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

.380ACP in a 9mm Revolver?

Slow_HandSlow_Hand Member Posts: 2,835
edited July 2006 in Ask the Experts
Please cut me some slack on this question as I'm new at all of this.

I was wondering if a 9mm Luger cartridge revolver that uses moon clips, e.g. Taurus 905 stainless steel 5-shot revolver, could safely and satisfactorily shoot the shorter .380ACP or 9mm Kurtz ammo? Obviously, it could chamber the round but shooting it is a whole different matter.

Any ideas or info?

Comments

• Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    Hello Yes it would chamber with half moon clips and the bullet diameter is the same . However IMHO what you are asking to do is NOT the same as say shooting a 38 special in a 357 Mag revolver . The 9MM luger is a tapered case and the area just ahead of the extractor is larger by almost .020 of an inch . Whould this cause the case to split on a 380 cartridge ??? but I think if you value your hand, eyes ETC you should shoot the cartridge the gun is chambered in . If I had a 9MM pistol and only had 380 ammo I would use it as it is better then no gun at all but would use this mix only in emergency. If you want milder recoil out of your 9 MM just reload reduced loads.
  • Options
    bobskibobski Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    please dont not put a bullet into a gun that its not designed for. it makes pro gun people look stupid and if enough people do stupid things like this, theyll want to make laws to make guns idiot proof. its bad enough 3/4th of the bbl is taken up with danger warnings now...if you blow yourself up, they might have to put a bullet warning on the grips next.[:(]
    Retired Naval Aviation
    Former Member U.S. Navy Shooting Team
    Former NSSA All American