In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

SKS openions

LatumicLatumic Member Posts: 32 ✭✭
edited October 2007 in Ask the Experts
I have read that you can get a part for your SKS that will allow it to accept AK-47 magazines. Being that i am no expert, i would like your openions on this. More like pros and cons of doing this to my Yugo SKS. THANKS!!!

Comments

• Options
    SuburbanNoizeSuburbanNoize Member Posts: 10,142
    edited November -1
    its not as simple as just installing a part. Its dremeling and installing some stuff into the mag well of your SKS. Its either hit or miss on if it will feed correctly. Save yourself the time and money and just buy the SKS that takes the AK mags from the factory.
  • Options
    midnightrunpaintballermidnightrunpaintballer Member Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    my shooting buddy did it to his sks. so yes, it can be done. as SuburbanNoize said you could have feeding problems which my friend DID experience. it was a real pain in the @ss. some further slight modifications were made to the stock to better fit the mag adapter part and after the mag is loaded (30rd) it takes 4 good whacks on the bottom of the mag and 4 more on the rear to seat the bullets before it is put into the gun. this pretty much solved the problem and it works great now. hope this helps
  • Options
    justright58justright58 Member Posts: 333 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    openions ??????????????........... OPINIONS. eye gutcha.........

I put a folding stock on my sks which eliminated the 10 round box mag well. Now it uses sks-specific 30 round mags with a 'finger' which sticks out on the front of the mag to fill in the spot where the box mag hinge was. I have attached 2 links for the stock upgrade as well as the necessary magazine.
    stock: