In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Mystery Mauser

walldj45walldj45 Member Posts: 80 ✭✭
edited August 2010 in Ask the Experts
I'm not a Mauser expert in any form but i was offered this one and i was wondering if any one knew the type, caliber value etc.

It was presented as a 1889 Belgium Artillery carbine but i don't think that's it. Any idea of caliber and value would be awesome.

belgianmauser.jpg

belgianmauser2.jpg

Comments

• Options
    Hawk CarseHawk Carse Member Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Well, it is a '98, not an '89. There are a lot of different makes, models and variants that the enthusiasts care about. But the Williams side scope mount setup kind of knocks any collector value in the head anyhow.
  • Options
    TRAP55TRAP55 Member Posts: 8,270 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It's a Polish Radom WZ-29, or one made by Poland for Spain. Stock doesn't look right though, something missing. Should be 8x57 Mauser.
  • Options
    nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    walldj45,

Remove the scope and side mount.

Remove the barreled action from the stock, look at the top of the front ring, top of the barrel and all surfaces on the underside of the action/barrel. There should be several marks and proofs which will give us more clues.

Pictures of these will be a big help.

Best.
  • Options
    rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It has the 98 AZ type hinged upper band and front sight but the mounting for the bayonet doesn't look correct, almost as it's been added on as a afterthought? I thought the Polish 98 AZ's were pretty much exact copies of the German ones? I wasn't aware that the later Polish rifles used the same type upper band and front sight as the AZ copies.