In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Please help with background of Colt.

wilbur33wilbur33 Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
edited August 2004 in Ask the Experts
I was given a U.S. Army Model 1894 Colt Model D.A. .38 by my grandfather some years ago. I have been looking for some time for information on this pistol and have been unable to find any information. It was made in 1888, I believe. Any help would be great.

Comments

• Options
    p3skykingp3skyking Member Posts: 25,750
    edited November -1
    You have a most underrated and historical revolver. It was the first swing out adopted by the US Army. It was also the revolver that prompted the Army to adopt the 1911.

I have been scarfing these up for a few years.

There is a wealth of information on the net about them. Modify your search with such words as "Colt" "Collectors" "Colt DA 38"

A number of Colt books abound if you care to go that route. I don't understand why you are having a hard time getting information.

You weapon is basically the same from 1886 to 1903. Most any of these will have some info.

Good luck.

Sometimes I wonder if anything is ever ended. The words a man speaks today live on in his thoughts or the memories of others, and the shot fired, the blow struck, the thing done today is like a stone tossed into a pool and the ripples keep widening out until they touch lives far from ours
    To succeed as a human being is not always the same as succeeding in your life's work, although they can go hand in hand. L'Amour

wings2.gif
    Stolen from, and with thanks, to Kiwibird
  • Options
    rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    If you could be a little more explicit, re all the markings & serial number, ( replace the last 2 digets with Xes ) on your revolver, we would be better able to help you.