In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

which AR-15A2 is which ?? Cobray M12??

grsmithmdgrsmithmd Member Posts: 20 ✭✭
edited August 2003 in Ask the Experts
I am very new to firearms collecting, but am very interested and really need some help. My understanding is there is an original Sporter II model 6500 with SN pre-fixes of SP, then there is the AR-15A2 Sporter II rifle with fixed stock and 20 inch barrel, then there is the AR-15A2 Carbine with collapsible stock, 16 inch barrel, and shortened forearm, then I won't even talk about the Tactical Carbine, Government Model, etc. The question is I have what I believe to be a pre-ban AR-15A2 marked Sporter II with an SP serial number, collapsible stock, short barrel, shortened forearm, flash hider, and bayonnet lug, so what gun do I really have, what is the model number, and what is it worth? I also have a gun given to me years ago that is labeled Cobray M12 in .380 auto with SN 12-00063XX and it is very similar to an Ingram MAC. Any information including value if any would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much.

Comments

• Options
    JudgeColtJudgeColt Member Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Dr. Smith, welcome to the forum. I assume you are talking about a Colt rifle, although you did not say. You can check your Colt AR-15A2 against the following chart:

http://www.biggerhammer.net/ar15/variants/

to see where it fits. I think you probably have a R6520, but am not sure. Does it have a GC prefix on the serial number? Depending on condition and whether it has the sear block, the value can vary a lot.
  • Options
    grsmithmdgrsmithmd Member Posts: 20 ✭✭
    edited November -1