In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

A little help please

jmaustinjmaustin Member Posts: 5 ✭✭
edited October 2009 in Ask the Experts
New to the site as you can tell by my join date. I am also sort of newbie to gun info/history, but thought this would be the best place to start. I ran across the following at an antique/junk sale and had some value and/or "what are they" questions.
Again, please forgive the pics and info as I am new to this and was not really prepared with a good camera or what to look for and/or ask. The info I do have may be very broad but anything you know will help.
Here is what I know:

Gun 1: J Stevens SXS http://www.flickr.com/photos/jon_mckee/sets/72157622487853532/
From what I could find on the net it should be pre 1940 since the inscripted name said J Stevens Arms Company, but I have not found any of these on GB or other sites with the same insignia on the side (last pic). I did not see any other markings, but did not open it up to look under the barrels.

Gun 2: Unknown
http://www.flickr.com/photos/jon_mckee/sets/72157622363255565/
As you can see in the photos, made in Brazil; Serial# (I assume) 700370; Not sure on the insignia. ERA?

Gun 3: Unknown
No Pics. It was an old SXS w/ hammers, no visible markings and the latch to open it was on the bottom which I hadn't seen. It had a large latch to break it open and a smaller latch mounted under the larger to break it completely.
The seller's story was that it was made in Belgium used in WW_ and in poor condition b/c it was pulled out of one of the gun piles that they had run over with tanks after the war.

Thanks,

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1