In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

V springs percussion pistols

derbuckderbuck Member Posts: 6 ✭✭
edited October 2017 in Ask the Experts
I have a couple of Belgian pistols ( drop down triggers )That the V springs ( with rectangle slots on bottom ) are like stone.. Is there any way to put the spring back to normal?? If not,, other then making springs ( I'm not experienced enough,, yet ) Can they be purchased anywhere ?? I will appreciate any help.. Thanks.. Derbuck

Comments

• Options
    rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The springs now in the guns are probably not original. Just stuck in for cosmetic purposes. To make the pistols salable. The original 19th Century springs, got broken year ago.

These guns were individually assembled, by skilled gunsmiths who hand fit the parts. Very unlikely IMHO, your going to find a off the shelf V spring. That will be, a drop in fit.

Might try Dixie Gunworks, they use to carry a lot of older BP parts and accessories.
  • Options
    navc130navc130 Member Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    What V springs are you referring to - the small trigger springs or the large mainspring? A spring can be retempered. Small v springs can be made from a hacksaw blade. Read up on spring making and tempering. Not rocket science but does require some knowledge of heating and tempering metal.
    Sometimes small trigger V springs can be replaced with modern coil springs, if it can be held in place.
    If you look in the Dixie catalog you will see a Mainspring Compressor for V mainsprings. Very useful to have. Visegrips will work but do not overcompress or you may break it due to the shorter gripping location.
  • Options
    Bill DeShivsBill DeShivs Member Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1