In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

WW 2 german handgun

NAPANAPA Member Posts: 2 ✭✭
edited October 2003 in Ask the Experts
I have a german handgun that appears to be from ww2. Can anyone help me identify what it is and its value?
left barrel markings: DEUTSCHE WERKE WERK ERFURT
right barrel markings: ORTGIES PATENT
underside of barrel: 200112 GERMANY
SLIDE THE BARREL TO COCK THE GUN, RIGHT SIDE EJECTION
EJECTION HOUSING SAYS CAL 7.65 M/M
This gun has no grips or clip. I would like to locate some.
I am a novice gun collecter would greatly appreciate any info on this
weapon. Thanks NAPA

Comments

• Options
    p3skykingp3skyking Member Posts: 25,750
    edited November -1
    It's pre-WWII. 1919-26 or so. You will find it listed under Ortgies.
    Very nice little weapons.

No screws. Do not attempt to remove grips without knowing how, you WILL break them.

Non-military, all were sold commercially.

A man who starts imagining that others think good because he does is simply out of his mind
    It behooves one to be wary when among strangers and not to trust too much L'Amour
  • Options
    rufe-snowrufe-snow Member Posts: 18,650 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Mark Christian is a authority on the Ortgies pistols. He has studied them extensively and owns a number of examples.
    Since he's on vacation, I took the liberty of retrieving some of his older threads concerning them. Once he get's back, I'm sure he be able to go into even greater detail regarding them.