In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Brass vs Nickel Case Reloading

HAIRYHAIRY Member Posts: 23,606
edited November 2004 in Ask the Experts
Is there a difference in reloading nickel vs brass cases? I've got both and since I'm just starting out to reload, thought the experts could help me. Thanks.

Don't assume malice for what stupidity can explain.

Comments

• haroldchrismeyerharoldchrismeyer Member Posts: 2,213
    edited November -1
    Nickel cases are easier to clean and don't tarnish, but the brass cases usually last longer.
  • heavyironheavyiron Member Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Hi Hairy,

Yeah there is difference when reloading nickel versus brass cases. The nickel cases are harder and more brittle. They will split or crack sooner than a good malleable brass case. The entire case is not nickel - the nickel is merely plated onto the brass case. Eventually, will brass cleaning the nickel wears off and the brass case remains - but it is a thinner brass case.

The nickel plated cases were originally designed to prevent corrosion when kept for long periods of time, like in a police officers duty belt. This is their main advantage.

Some manufacturers also claim that the nickel plating is stonger and the smoothness of the finish will also assist in the cycling of a firearm. I think this part is mostly conjecture on the part of the manufacturers.

Federal and Winchester brass is the thickest commercial brass. GI brass is the thickest of all. Remington brass is the thinnest. The addition of the nickel plating makes the actual brass case thinner than in a regular brass case.

Regards,

Heavyiron[8D]

bullitt_county_4199_small.jpg
    "If I don't see you nomore on this world, I'll meet you on the next one, and don't be late!" - Jimi Hendrix
  • mpolansmpolans Member Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭✭✭