In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

AR15 16 vs 20 inch barrel length

tayarantayaran Member Posts: 21 ✭✭
edited May 2009 in Ask the Experts
Experts, please tell me what are the advantages/disadvantages of each. I am eyeing the 16" and my friend keeps telling me I am crazy if I don't get the 20", thank you in advance ...

Comments

• MaaloxMaalox Member Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by tayaran
    Experts, please tell me what are the advantages/disadvantages of each. I am eyeing the 16" and my friend keeps telling me I am crazy if I don't get the 20", thank you in advance ...

First, I am not an expert

But it doesn't matter which you purchase (first). Because once you get one, the second will not be far behind. [:D]

Shorter barrel = easier handling in close quarters
    Longer Barrel = better accuracy over longer distance shooting
    Regards, MAALOX
  • nyforesternyforester Member Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The longerr barrel will be more accurate with open sites. If you scope them, you will not be able to tell which is more accurate. Get the one that feels and looks best to you.
    Maaloux is correct. I can't seem to "Just say no" when it comes to buying AR's. I guess I have the AR-BUG.
    Abort Cuomo
  • BHAVINBHAVIN Member Posts: 3,490 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Just as an all around gun I prefer the 16". I like the feel better. You are losing about 120fps (feet per second) with the shorter barrel which doesn't amount to much. Like NY said if you are using open sights the 20" will be a little more accuracte because of the added sight radius. See which one feels best to you. I have 16", 20" and 24" AR's and like them all and all of them have their niche.
  • Mr. GunzMr. Gunz Member Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1