In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Old powder question.

ginmasterginmaster Member Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited April 2005 in Ask the Experts
Bought some reloading stuff at a garage sale today and found a full un-opened can of Hercules smokeless Bullseye pistol powder. I'm no expert so I'll ask a couple of questions. The warning label states the it is a double base powder containing nitroglycerin and nitrocellulose. Is this not safe? Am I lucky to have made it home? Is there any intrest in this old powder can or it's contents, as far as collectability?
Thanks in advance.

Good luck out there.

Comments

• Options
    Old hickoryOld hickory Member Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    RELAX!!! It's about as safe as matches. The "nitroglycerine" is suspended in the media and needs a spark in an enclosed container to cause any proiblem. A small pinch (3.5gr) will propel a 158 gr .357 slug at 800 fps. As far as value goes, 8oz. of bullseye retails for maybe $7.00. The cans are interesting, but too common to be worth much in the next 30 years.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Cool thanks oldhickory.[8D]

Good luck out there.
  • Options
    robkelly2242robkelly2242 Member Posts: 295 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    For years I used Bullseye in .38 Special, 1.5 grains powder and a 158 gr. lead wadcutter seated flush for a target load.. It was fairly quiet for a .38 and pretty accurate too.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by robkelly2242
    For years I used Bullseye in .38 Special, 1.5 grains powder and a 158 gr. lead wadcutter seated flush for a target load.. It was fairly quiet for a .38 and pretty accurate too.

Along with the powder was a Lee Loader for .38 and some .38 bullets and small primers. Now I just need a .38.[8D]

Good luck out there.
  • Options