In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Springfield Armory M2

Mullen CoinsMullen Coins Member Posts: 25
edited August 2013 in Ask the Experts
Here are images of a Springfield Armory M2 .22 Cal. in excellent condition. I am not an expert on gun finishes but wonder if this gun is original or if it has been re-blued at some point. What is the best manner to detect re-bluing and how does that impact the value?

m2.jpg
m22.jpg
m23.jpg
m24.jpg
m25.jpg
m26.jpg
m27.jpg
m28.jpg
m29.jpg

Comments

• perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    Hello These are great rifles . Stock has been modified and refinuished We need much better quality pictures Try outside natural light Hazey days are best . Then we might be able to help EDITMuch better pictures. My opinion is either original finish on metal[^]or someone of very high skill level did a refinish. Not the same person that did IMHO an awful job on the stock. Al freeland was a man and his company that made many products to serve Target shooters for many many years. You have a very nice early Target rifle you should get a high quality wood work gun smith to try to restore the stock .
  • Hawk CarseHawk Carse Member Posts: 4,365 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Well, MY M2 was Parkerized.
    This one looks like it might have been blued over the Parkerizing which gives that nice flat black finish.

The stock has had the black grip cap added and refinished glossy.

The globe front sight is not Springfield, but was a common add-on.
  • Mullen CoinsMullen Coins Member Posts: 25
    edited November -1
    Here are additional images of the M2 - hope these help.

m210.jpg
    m211.jpg
    m212.jpg
    m213.jpg
    m214.jpg
    m215.jpg
    m216.jpg
    m217.jpg
    m218.jpg
    m219.jpg
    m220.jpg
  • HerschelHerschel Member Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭✭✭