In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Interchanging bolt carrier assemblies

brushbusterbrushbuster Member Posts: 11 ✭✭
edited August 2006 in Ask the Experts
I have a Bushmaster 5.56mm in a standard heavy barreled 16" configuration. I have a red-dot scope mounted on the carry handle and a high-powered scope mounted to a riser. I have been exchanging the carry handle/red dot set-up and the riser/high-power set-up to suit the style of shooting I am doing, but, while close, the sights do not return to the zero I want. I want to get another upper assembly and exchange uppers rather than sight systems. What are the pros and cons or even dangers of exchanging the bolt carrier assembly between the two uppers? Will this plan stop me from having to re-zero every time I change systems? Money is an issue, or I would just get a second complete upper. Thanks for your advice.

Brushbuster.

Comments

• Options
    p3skykingp3skyking Member Posts: 25,750
    edited November -1
    A change of bolt carriers should not be a problem. Milspec parts are just that, milspec. Even the bolt should be okay. If the carrier runs forward enough so that you can close the weapon, it's obviously okay.
    This isn't rocket science.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    p3skyking- Your post illustrates what my thinking has been on this subject. Bushmaster touts the ability to interchange parts as the "beauty of the bushmaster weapons system," in its catalogues. But my manual, on page 39, contains a warning that, "Bushmaster does not recommend the practice of swapping bolts between different rifles. Doing so could result in damage, personal injury or death."

This is why I am asking the question. Which literature do I believe?
  • Options
    gunphreakgunphreak Member Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1