In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

winchester model 1960

hdcp11hdcp11 Member Posts: 5 ✭✭
edited February 2008 in Ask the Experts
newbie here, was just giving a winchester model 1960. Serial # 544395 B. what might be the value of this type of gun? $100-$300 or more

Comments

• Options
    Bert H.Bert H. Member Posts: 11,279 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I sincerely doubt that you have a Winchester Model "1860"... Winchester did not exist as a company prior to the year 1866.

What I believe that you have, is a Winchester Model 1873 lever-action, and based on the serial number, it was manufactured shortly after the year 1900. (the model designation should be stamped on the upper tang just behind the hammer).

If my assumption is correct, there are many things I need to know before I can answer your question;

1. What is the caliber (e.g. 44 W.C.F., 38 W.C.F., or 32 W.C.F.).?
    2. What is the barrel length?
    3. What type of barrel contour (e.g. octagon, 1/2 octagon, or round)?
    4. Magazine tube length (e.g. full length, or shorter than the barrel)?
    5. Buttstock configuration (e.g. straight-grip or pistol-grip)?
    6. Butt plate configuration?
    7. Trigger type?
    8. Plain walnut or deluxe?
    9. Plain stocks or checkered?
    10. Standard open iron sights, or special order target sight?
    11. Blued receiver/frame, or color case hardened?
    12. Bore condition?
    13. Condition of the stocks?

If you can provide pictures of your Winchester, I can answer many of the questions myself.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by Bert H.
    I sincerely doubt that you have a Winchester Model "1860"... Winchester did not exist as a company prior to the year 1866.