In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

45ACP action pistol loads

dkosto99dkosto99 Member Posts: 49 ✭✭
edited May 2005 in Ask the Experts
I am a beginner reloader and shot my first action pistol match (IPSC) and want to reload for the matches.
I see different bullets and diameters (.451 and .452) and wonder why wouldn't someone load light bullets (185gr) and light powder loads?
Any ideas appreciated.
I have single stage press and will buy Lee carbide dies with factory crimp die because everything I've read says the factory crimp die is the shizz for 45acp reloading. (no Lee bashing, I've read it already)
Pls help with bullet and powders for my application.
Thanks,
Dan

Comments

• Options
    JAK71454JAK71454 Member Posts: 325 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The basic reason why no one should use target loads is because the match simulates real life combat situations and no one uses target loads for self defense. Some matches require that you knock down a plate/ popper with randomly select loads from for your mags. This assures you have a certain minimum load. I don't think 185 gr lead semi-wadcutters will make minimun. Of course your match may have no such requirment. Find out your minimum and load with the lightest bullet that will make the minimum. Also don't crimp the 45 with a heavy crimp. The 45 headspaces on the case. I use a taper crimp die. BTY, there are 100's of good load combinations. If you need a good one let me know (target or IPSC min) and I will look it up.

Jim Kammerer
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1