In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Two-tone blue 29 Smith?

jamnjamn Member Posts: 43 ✭✭
edited June 2005 in Ask the Experts
I recently purchased a 29-3 Smith 6 inch and noticed the blue on the barrel and the cylinder more of a plum color and the frame is more of a true blue. In regular indoor lighting you can't really tell but if you take a flashlight to it you can see. I heard different things like 'Smith used to do that at the factory' or 'someone refinished it'. Does anyone really know about this?

Thanks,

Jamn

Comments

• RamtinxxlRamtinxxl Member Posts: 9,480
    edited November -1
    Well, I'm no expert on this subject, but the "plum" color sounds like a re-blue job. I had an old shotgun re-blued about 30 years ago and it came back with the receiver a "plum" color and the barrel a more traditional blue. Don't know if it has to do with the difference in hardness of the metals or the bluing process itself. Anyway, just my experience...
  • ATFATF Member Posts: 11,683 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It's just the different metals causing this.I have a Ruger .357 that I bought new and the loading gate is plum color because the metal is a little different.[:)]

Eagle_Guns.gif
    standard.jpg
    standard.jpg
    When a worm wants to relax,does he go fishing?  "And remember a wet dog doesn't fly at night"  "My memory's not as sharp as it used to be. Also, my memory's not as sharp as it used to be."   ATF,Eagle Guns
  • select-fireselect-fire Member Posts: 69,453 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Someone might have replaced the cylinder? My 29-3 is Blue
  • wm69wm69 Member Posts: 236 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1