In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

8mm Mauser ammo

Nott SureNott Sure Member Posts: 8 ✭✭
edited May 2010 in Ask the Experts
I was wondering if anybody out there can tell me just how bad it would be for my Mauser if I fire old (corrosive) Turkish ammo in it. My gun is a Yugo type and not a collectibe, but I would like to keep it in pristine condition. I'm concerned about the corrosive nature of the ammo. I have no experience with it and I don't know just how badly or quickly the residue would damage the bore, or if there are any other potential problems to consider. Would appreciate any help.

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    Hello everyone,
    I recently aquired a mod 98 8MM German mauser.
    will the 8MM Turkish mauser ammo work properly in this gun ?
    If not,why not,what's the difference and what do you suggest is the best ammo to use in the mod 98 8MM German mauser?
    Thanks...............WhiskeyPete

WhiskeyPete
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Is there any reason I shouldn't try to handload my 8x57 with a light bullet at high velocity, within pressures. I love my 98 but want more reach then the 200 grain bullets can do.
  • Options
    sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Nott Sure,

There is no reason what-so-ever to prevent you from handloading the 8x57. That case will load up or down and do everything you need it to. As far as ammo off the shelf is concerned, I would handload because American shelf (liability-proof) ammo is anemic. Not worth the money to buy it unless you can't find brass anywhere.