In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

looking for some suggestions

russ735russ735 Member Posts: 13 ✭✭
edited June 2011 in Ask the Experts
OK guys, here's the deal. I have a winchester laredo in a 7mm Rem. mag. I am looking to build on the action and use the H.S. stock. I would like something in a 6.5 cal. but am really limited to a .264 win. mag. due to the .532 bolt face. Nothing wrong with the .264 just want a little more barrel life. this will be a heavy barrel "do all" gun. Long range Varmint, Target, whitetail and what ever else looks like it needs shot at. Just wondering what you guys would build. I have the barrel selection narrowed down to broughton, bartlein or kreiger. This is my first build and want something new to play with. What do you think?

Comments

• Options
    sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    6.5 WSM.

Or have the bolt face welded then cut again for the .473 boltface and re-hardened. Or, buy a new bolt from PTG. Not sure which is cheaper.
  • Options
    shootersgunsshootersguns Member Posts: 9 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    6.5 remington mag.
    less powder than 264 close to same ballistics. Check out Ken waters Pet loads
  • Options
    tsr1965tsr1965 Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    There is nothing wrong with the 264 Winchester Magnum. If you take care of your barrel, and don't take it to a prarie dog shoot, get it hot, and run it dirty, it will last as long as the 7mm Remington Magnum. You can always down load it too. I would keep the same barrel contour, but add another 2-4 inches of barrel. I would strongly reccommend the Bartlein barrel, in the 5-R configuration, with a 1 in 8 twist.

Best

EDIT 1

Sandwarrior,