In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Winchester 1892 SRC w/shotgun butt

sentinel89sentinel89 Member Posts: 4 ✭✭
edited July 2008 in Ask the Experts
Good morning,

I have acquired a Winchester 1892 carbine in 38/40 that's in about 70% condition or so. I'm no Winchester expert, but the carbine appears to be in original condition. It is equipped with a shotgun butt and unfortunately because of the serial number range (1911 mfg date) I cannot get it lettered from Cody due to the fire at the museum. Although the left side receiver screws show evidence of turning, the buttstock screws appear to have never been touched, and the wood to metal fit is tight with no chips or gaps. I'm not interested in selling it, but I'm trying to find out how this uncommon butt affects the value of the carbine for insurance reasons. Any help or advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and have a great day.

Comments

• Options
    Old-ColtsOld-Colts Member Posts: 22,700 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Hello and welcome to the forum. There were indeed Saddle Ring Carbines that were originally built from the factory with Shotgun Butts. You've already stated that wood to metal fit appears to be correct, so another thing to look for would be a wood match in grain and color between the forearm and buttstock.

I've owned two Model 1892 SRC's with factory original Shotgun Butts, both of which were in the 500,000 serial number range. Since this configuration is non-standard and would be a special order feature it can influence value. Back when I was a more active collector it would slightly increase the value, but Bert is a more current Winchester collector and will be able to provide a better perspective on how this special order feature influences today's values.