In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Cylinder will not rotate on revolver

model1892model1892 Member Posts: 88 ✭✭
edited March 2014 in Ask the Experts
I have a Rossi .38 revolver I recently just obtained and I looked at it when I bought it, but don't think I inspected it like I fully should have. Anyway, to the point, the cylinder only rotates when the gun is pointed downward and the trigger is pulled. If you hold the gun up as if you were shooting a target or object, the cylinder does not rotate when you pull the trigger. You can keep pulling the trigger, but the cylinder does not rotate. I have taken the gun completely apart and back together probably 10 times and still no change. I'm wondering if it could be the part call the "hand" that rotates forward to turn the cylinder. I'm not really sure as to I have no experience with revolvers. Has anyone ever run across this issue. I have some pictures uploaded to website below of the inside. You can hear the piece inside as your rotating the gun if you put it closely to your ear.

http://s42.photobucket.com/user/model1892/library/?sort=3&page=1

Comments

• Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I think you are missing the hand spring. Part #25

http://www.gunpartscorp.com/Manufacturers/Rossi-33467/Revolvers-40393/38-38299.htm?results=All

added I think a S&W spring could be made to work if they can't find a Rossi.
  • Options
    CheechakoCheechako Member Posts: 563 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    There is a spring located in the trigger that engages a pin in the hand, pushing it forward to engage the cylinder. Either the spring is missing or broken or, more likely, the hand is not installed properly.