In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

S&W Sigma SW9VE Trigger pull

soundstreamdvsoundstreamdv Member Posts: 6 ✭✭
edited August 2005 in Ask the Experts
The trigger pull on my Smith & Wesson SW9VE is a little bit heavy and I would like to lighten it up a bit if possible. I found a website (gunsprings.com) that offers a reduced power striker spring that they claim will help. My question is, will the reduced power striker spring have a negative effect on reliability?
Also, I am quite handy at taking things apart and putting them back together (I fix small electronics for a living), but I have no experience with gunsmithing. Do you think changing the spring is something I might be able to tackle myself or would it be unwise to attempt?

Comments

• Options
    danski26danski26 Member Posts: 284 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I think you would be better off selling your sigma and buying something else. Sigma's are bottom of the barell in my opinion. I personaly would not change the springs unless you know all the possible problems that may be caused from doing so, if you are going to use this as a defensive weapon. If its a plinker....go for it if you like the pistol.

0311 semper fi
  • Options
    soundstreamdvsoundstreamdv Member Posts: 6 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    What makes it "bottom of the barrel"? I'm no expert on guns, but so far I have put over 500 rounds through it and found it reliable, accurate, and comfortable with the exception of the heavy trigger.
  • Options
    danski26danski26 Member Posts: 284 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    If you like it go for it. I dislike the trigger, grip angle, accuracy and on the one i shot the reliability was horrible. Just my experience with one pistol, a test sample of one does not prove anything but i won't touch one again.

0311 semper fi
  • Options