In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

.270 win reloading

tomcat_blackknightstomcat_blackknights Member Posts: 67 ✭✭
edited September 2012 in Ask the Experts
so i just bought a cooper .270 win. (havnt shot it yet) the reason i went with a .270 is because its such a common round plus i have a ton of used brass for it that i accuired some how. (not sure how but i have it) i have been reloading for around 3 or 4 years. mainly straight walled pistol stuff. so i wanted to start loading up some ammo for this gun. i planned on just starting with the exact same loads that cooper used to test fire this rifle. which work out well since i have the same powder and primers they used. i bought a set of hornady full lenghth dies adjusted them as per hornadys directions which are close to other manufacture directions. ran a dozen or so through the resizer die. with that being said once through the resizer die i tried to chamber a resized piece in my rifle and the bolt wont clamp down. some do some dont. mainly more dont than do. now a buddy of mine suggested that the brass i accuired went through a semi auto rifle there for i might need to get a set of small base dies to get them back to unfired dimensions. my question here is i could see useing a small base die if i were to use this ammo in an automatic, but shouldnt a full length die at least resize this brass enough to make it chamber in my bolt action?

Comments

• tsr1965tsr1965 Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    t_b,

The only reason you would need a set of small base dies, is if you were reloading for a semi-automatic. You are fine with what you have.