In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Forming 6.5/06 Cases from 270 Cases

Horse Plains DrifterHorse Plains Drifter Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 39,380 ***** Forums Admin
edited April 2019 in Ask the Experts
I have a 6.5/06 in the works. I bought some once fired 270 brass here on GB. I already have a set of Hornady 6.5/06 dies. As I have never done this before what would be my procedure to form up 6.5 brass from 270 brass,? TIA for any input.

Comments

• Options
    MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Don't form/size the brass until you have the barrel chambered. You'll need to "test fit" the reformed brass to assure proper fit.
  • Options
    MIKE WISKEYMIKE WISKEY Member, Moderator Posts: 9,972 ******
    edited November -1
    as above.............but basically you just full length resize the .270 case. you MAY have to neck turn the brass depending on your chamber/neck dimensions
  • Options
    babunbabun Member Posts: 11,054 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Be aware that while the .270win is from the 30/06 family, the .270win has a longer case that the 30/06.
    .270win= 2.540" case
    30/06= 2.494" case
    Trimming may be needed depending on the chamber.
  • Options
    Horse Plains DrifterHorse Plains Drifter Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 39,380 ***** Forums Admin
    edited November -1
    Ok, thanks guys. I'll wait until I have the rifle in hand before I do anything.
  • Options
    babunbabun Member Posts: 11,054 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    By the way.....you are going to love the 6.5/06.
    It' is a handloaders dream.
    About 2 and half gagzillion years ago, I had a Springfield action with a heavy 26" barrel with a twist rate for the long 6.5 bullets.
    Handloads were fun to work with.