In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Old Vaquero, loose chambers

CapnEdCapnEd Member Posts: 2
I picked up an old Vaquero in 45 colt, I like it fine, except for one thing, if I tip the muzzle up while cocking, the cartridges are loose enough to slide to the rear.  This was not something i picked up on at the dealer's, because I was not loading any live ammo inside the shop.  I have to remember to keep the muzzle level or down while cocking.  Is this a defect, anything I should worry about, or just continue holding muzzle down while cocking?   btw, I have a new sizing die on order, although I do not expect that to make much of a difference, especially since I have not had this problem on another Vaquero, or a S&W m25  I own.  I am relatively new to single action revolvers.

Comments

• Options
    navc130navc130 Member Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭
    I checked my Ruger Vaquero 44-40 cal. and the cartridges are slightly loose in the chambers - they rattle a little if you shake it.  They all fall out of the cylinder easily.  I would say that is a normal condition.  There has to be tolerences involved to load and unload unfired cartridges.  If the cylinder rotates normally with the muzzle pointed up you do not have a problem.  Ammo is loaded to specifications but some may fit tighter than others.
  • Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭