In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Basic question- best way to sell?

MopeychildMopeychild Member Posts: 5
Newbie here, have a basic S&W revolver to sell and was wondering about the best way forward.  I assume a gun shop would buy low in order to make money, ditto at a show.  I assume the best price for me is likely an auction on this site?  I'm a veteran eBay user and the platform looks more or less the same.  It looks like I ship Fedex overnight to the buyer's choice of local FFL agent if I read the site correctly.  Do I have any other issues to work out first?

Comments

• Options
    mark christianmark christian Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 24,456 ******
    edited August 2020
    Welcome to the Gun Broker forums. Your assumptions are, for the most part, correct. Dealers won't pay what a gun is actually worth. I am a dealer and unless I want the gun for myself, my goal is to get it at a rock bottom price so that I can turn it for a quick profit. This is business 101.

You'll get your best price using the Gun Broker auctions.

Only dealers and manufacturers are allowed to mail (use the Post office) handguns, so UPS or FedEx air are the only a ways that non FFL dealer can ship a handgun. 

One issue to keep in mind is that there are some FFL's who will not accept firearms shipments from non licensees. Federal regulations do not prohibit a non licensee from shipping firearms, but some dealers have an issue with it. We get stories of guns which were shipped to uncooperative dealers and stuck in limbo. In your listing, I advise that you state very clearly that the receiving FFL dealer must accept firearms from non licensees. 

More questions? Feel free to ask.
  • Options