In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Kings 1911 recoil buffer

spas12spas12 Member Posts: 571 ✭✭✭✭
Looking for a Kings recoil buffer for a 1911.

Comments

• Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    hello SPAS
    I am not familiar with that brand and style of 1911 recoil BUffer
    and if you want to restore a pistol that once had one of those installed I hope you find one However. I have been shooting and working on 1911 Match pistols for over 40 years. a normal recoil buffer is an attempt to FIX a problem with a poor choice in how to do it. There have been many topics on both ask the expert and General discussion forum of GunBroker. The better way of addressing 100 % function and lack of damage to your pistol is to match the recoil spring installed with the power of the load you want to shoot in your pistol I have posted a number of times how to do this but feel free to email me if you would like to get the long version on how this is done . short version with no buffer of any kind "FACTORY SHIPPED CONDITION" get a wooff spring kit and install one in the 19 pound range for normal factory loads load one round in magazine and fire it does the slide lock to the rear ? if not install a weaker spring and start over with test if it does lock back install a 20 pound spring stronger etc etc until the slide no longer locks back in other words this load does not have enough recoil generated to fully cycle the slide . Then go back to the spring you used just before this one IE one pound lighter This way you have a matched load to your pistol . If you change load you may have to retest and use another spring to get the wanted results . Buffers on the other hand keep a slide from full cycle from either stopping the slide from a plastic /rubber like insert or a extra sprin