In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

FirearmsTruth.com: More on the Korean M1s

Peter SuciuPeter Suciu Member Posts: 69 ✭✭
I've been following the story of the Korean M1 rifles and I noticed that only FoxNews.com (my former employers from a decade ago) actually picked up on the story. I'm a freelance writer, and I've been covering the story:

http://www.firearmstruth.com/2010/mainstream-media-finally-picks-up-m1-story-brady-campaign-notes-concern

But it is interesting that some parts of the story are still being ignored. I'll continue to report on this story.

And feel free to send us any news tips. We report daily on gun bias in the media.

Comments

• Don McManusDon McManus Member Posts: 23,460 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It has been covered extensively on GNN (Gunbroker News Network)[:)]:

http://forums.gunbroker.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=473284

http://forums.gunbroker.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=473249

http://forums.gunbroker.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=470898

Additionally the author of the firearmstruth article is either ignorantly or deliberately downplaying the magazine capacity of the M1 Carbine:

Is the Brady Campaign, or Henigan even remotely serious? The M1 and M1 Carbine rifles do not have "high capacity magazines." The M1 Garand of that era has no removable magazine and holds only eight rounds, while many semi-automatic rifle are already available with removable magazines.

By any standard definition, the 30 round magazine is a 'high capacity magazine'. You can even buy a connector, giving the ability to have 60 rounds at hand.

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=188208872

Don't get me wrong, any ban or restriction based upon capacity is, IMO, silly, but misstatement of fact does not further any cause.
    Freedom and a submissive populace cannot co-exist.

Brad Steele