In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Learned a valuble lesson about reloads.

4406v4406v Member Posts: 317 ✭✭✭
My freind called me and asked if I wanted a box of .338 Win Mag ammo he had no use for.I told him Yes as I have a new 700 Remington in .338 and am itching for a day at the range.

The story was a freinds father-in-law was big time into reloading and died.He got the shells from the son-in-law.There was a label on the box indicating what primers,powder,and bullets were used including the load data.

I am brand new to reloading and the first thing I did was check the load in the Hornady manual I have.The load was marked as H4831 powder with 74.8 grains and 250gr Sierra bullets.This was above the max load listed in the manual.

I was VERY concerned about shooting these loads and decided to tear them apart for the components which I will reload myself.When disassembling the loads what I found was both ball powder and stick powder were used,two different bullets some boat tail,some flat.There was also a bit of corrosion on the bottom of the bullets.They were loaded in August of 1987 so they were almost 25 years old.

It taught me real quick not to trust reloads without knowing exactly who loaded them and what components were used.

Comments

• wanted manwanted man Member Posts: 3,276
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by 4406v
    My freind called me and asked if I wanted a box of .338 Win Mag ammo he had no use for.I told him Yes as I have a new 700 Remington in .338 and am itching for a day at the range.

The story was a freinds father-in-law was big time into reloading and died.He got the shells from the son-in-law.There was a label on the box indicating what primers,powder,and bullets were used including the load data.