In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Nosler Partitionin a 243

One of my manuals has big ol' letters warning against using boat tail data for the partition. But only in 243. Similar loads in the 257 Roberts (+P) have no such warning. Why is that?

Comments

• Options
    gunnut505gunnut505 Member Posts: 10,290
    edited November -1
    Which manual, and what year?
  • Options
    62fuelie62fuelie Member Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Probably the longer bearing surface of the partition bullet may be enough to raise pressures higher than desired.
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    Federal Loads that exact bullet in one variation of ammo I have been using it for over 30 years in Valmet Model and 115 grain in 25-06 Both have never failed me.
  • Options
    Colonel PlinkColonel Plink Member Posts: 16,460
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by gunnut505
    Which manual, and what year?

It's an older (mebbe 10 years) Speer #13.

quote:Originally posted by 62fuelie
    Probably the longer bearing surface of the partition bullet may be enough to raise pressures higher than desired.
    That makes sense. I also wondered if the jacket not covering the base of the bullet might cause it to open up slightly like the old style soft lead bullets. I know, long shot, but it had occurred to me.
  • Options
    navc130navc130 Member Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    What they are probably saying, is that caliber reload, with that bullet caused excessive pressure in their labratory testing. Reason unknown or not reported.
  • Options
    MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1