In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reloading the 25/06

Gene248Gene248 Member Posts: 358
Back in the 80's I reloaded everything I shot so I am not really a beginner. I am now getting back into reloading and have lost or misplaced a couple of my old books and I can not find my old recipe for my Win. model 70 25/06. All the manuals I have looked at state that 53gr-55gr of H4831 is max when using a 117-120gr bullet so I am currently using the new Hornady manual. I am loading nearly all Rem. cases ( a few Win ), 117 gr. Hornady interlock, and Nosler 120 gr. partition bullets. I am also using Federal 210M primers. I remember that when I used to load for this rifle, I used a compressed load with these same components. I put a lot of rounds through that 25/06 with never a mishap so I can't be totally crazy. It shot very flat out to 500 yds. Has anyone ever loaded this round without problems? I don't know if the powder has changed or why the manuals list a max of 55.0 gr. I haven't tried it but I believe you would have to load around 60gr. of H4831 before it starts compressing.
All responses appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    RobOzRobOz Member Posts: 9,523 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Hodgdon lists 52.00 grain of H4831 as max for 117 grain Hornady spitzer boat tail.

Hodgdon lists 51.5 grains of H4831 as max for 120 grain Swift spitzer

These loads are with Remington brass and Remington 9.5 primers.
    Nothing is listed about compressed loads. I took these from the 2014 Hodgdon annual reloading magazine.

My personal load is 52 grain of IMR4831, 115 grain Nosler BT with either a CCI BR2 or WLR.
  • Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1