In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Some data concerns me.

mbsamsmbsams Member Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭✭✭
I've just picked up a copy of Lee's Modern Reloading manual second edition of 2003 reprinted 2009. I have been comparing the loads I have been using for many years for my 22-250 and 280 Rem. The manual I have used for many years is the Hodgdon #26 of 1993. Some of Lee's loads have me concerned. For example: I use H380 at 37.0 gr and a 55 gr V-max for groups under a half inch at 100 yds. My Hodgdon manual lists this load as MAX at 54Kcup! The Lee book shows a starting load of 38.0gr and a max of a compressed load of 41.0 gr and 65.1Kpsi. That's a huge difference! Scares me! I tried 38gr in my gun and saw the start of primer flattening and metal flow into the firing pin hole. For the 280 max loads run a little higher too. I load for many calibers and the Lee book is more aggressive throughout. Some loads look risky to me for the inexperienced reloader. I don't believe powders have become milder. And if you're running in the 60k+ neighborhood to get the job done, you're probably using the wrong gun. I'm sticking with my conservative Hodgdon manual!

Comments

• Options
    dcs shootersdcs shooters Member Posts: 10,969
    edited November -1
    For one thing there is quite a bit if difference between CUP and PSI.
    Someone will come along and put up the formula for it, maby.
    This is what I found[;)] Put thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?=207765 in your search.

psi=-17,902+(1.51cup)

cup=(psi+17,902)/1.51

If this helps you.
  • Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,197 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    In truth, there is no reliable conversion formula for CUP to PSI or vice-versa. Compare CUP to CUP and PSI to PSI only.