In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

winchester 846

Just found a deal on 846 ($10 a LB) but I have never used it before. I'm thinking of using it in .223 and .308. I was told the load data is very close to Blc-2. I dont have any data in any of my load books to verify this. Has anyone used this powder, and know of any load books that list it?

Thanks
Middle

Comments

• Options
    Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,197 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    If is truly 846, it is not a canister powder. If it is a surplus or military pull-down powder, you will not find published loads using it. That means you are your own ballistics lab. I hope you know what you are doing.
    I may be a bit crazy - but I didn't drive myself.
  • Options
    BHAVINBHAVIN Member Posts: 3,490 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have used BLC(2) data when loading surplus WCC-846 for 223. We went through about 24 pounds of it when we couldn't get WCC-844.
  • Options
    thebambam2001thebambam2001 Member Posts: 733 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by BHAVIN
    I have used BLC(2) data when loading surplus WCC-846 for 223. We went through about 24 pounds of it when we couldn't get WCC-844.

Was told to use BL c2, WC 748, And H335 as work up loads.

Google WC 846
  • Options
    the middlethe middle Member Posts: 3,089
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by Rocky Raab
    If is truly 846, it is not a canister powder. If it is a surplus or military pull-down powder, you will not find published loads using it. That means you are your own ballistics lab. I hope you know what you are doing.

Its new surplus, not pull down.
  • Options
    the middlethe middle Member Posts: 3,089
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by thebambam2001
    quote:Originally posted by BHAVIN